Boys Golf


Boys Golf News

Thursday, June 5, 2014

State Boys Golf Championships Preview

THE MEET:  The 89th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Boys Golf Championships will be held Monday and Tuesday, June 9-10, at the University Ridge Golf Course in Madison, Wis. Competition will begin at 7 a.m. on both days. Practice rounds Sunday begin at 7 a.m.  Tee time assignments for Sunday practice and for Monday's play are posted on the boys golf page of the WIAA website. 

THE FORMAT:  The competition features 16 teams and 24 individual qualifiers in Division 1, and eight teams and 12 individuals in Divisions 2 and 3. Weather permitting, all competitors will play 36 holes, including 18 holes on each day. The lowest scores from the first day will have the later tee times Tuesday. 

THE FIELD:  In Division 1, the field consists of the top two teams from each of the eight sectionals. In Divisions 2 and 3, the top two teams from each of the four sectionals qualify. The top three individuals, who are not members of a qualifying team in each sectional, also qualify for the meet. 

ON THE AIR:  The ninth and 18th holes will be streamed live on In addition, a 60-minute highlight program of the 2014 Boys State Golf Championship Tournament is scheduled to air on FS Wisconsin on July 12 at 8 p.m. Check your local listings for the FS Wisconsin channel on your cable system.

LAST YEAR:  Cedarburg captured the Division 1 State title, shooting a four-player, 36-hole score of 598, which was 17 strokes better than runner-up Brookfield Central. RJ Budd of  Sauk Prairie earned medalist honors with a 36-hole score of 143. Catholic Memorial won the Division 2 title with a four-player, 36-hole score of 616. pion Edgerton, the 2012 champion, placed second with 627 strokes. Andrew Morrison of Edgerton earned medalist honors by shooting a 145. Osseo-Fairchild captured the Division 3 title with a score of 639, 10 shots better than runner-up Lancaster. Jake Rogness of Eleva-Strum fired a 146 to win medalist honors.

CHAMPIONSHIP NOTES:  Madison West holds the record for the most team golf titles with 15. Osseo-Fairchild is next in line with nine, followed by Racine Park with seven. Madison West has also produced the most individual champions with nine. Arrowhead is the only school to have won four straight team titles (2007-10), and there are four other schools that have won three straight championships. Osseo-Fairchild did it in 1994-96; Racine did it in 1923-25; Madison West accomplished the feat in 1934-36 and 1960-62; and Middleton did it from 1997-99.

TEAMS COMPETING:  The schools qualifying for the State meet in Division 1 are Appleton East, Brookfield Central, DeForest, Eau Claire Memorial, Eau Claire North, Fort Atkinson, Holmen, Homestead, Kenosha Tremper, Marquette, Middleton, Neenah, Notre Dame, Racine Case, Slinger and Waterford. Teams qualifying in Division 2 are Catholic Memorial, Edgewood, Ellsworth, Marinette, Osceola, River Valley, Roncalli and Sheboygan Falls. Qualifying teams in Division 3 are Crandon, Eleva-Strum, Lancaster, McDonell Central, Osseo-Fairchild, Racine St. Catherine’s, St. Thomas Aquinas and The Prairie School.

DIVISION 1 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: The top returning finisher from last year’s championships is senior Eddie Wajda from Brookfield Central. He was part of a three-way tie for second with a score of 146. The individual qualifiers in Division 1 are senior Kyle Tanriverdi of Arrowhead, senior Ian Statz of Beaver Dam, junior Brian Dankle of Burlington, senior Phillip Johnson of Germantown, senior Alex Rendon of Greendale, junior Pat Fisher of Hudson, senior Dylan Patscot of Kettle Moraine, senior Jonah Buss of Kimberly, junior Sasha Oosting of Manitowoc Lincoln, junior Brad Leitermann of Mukwonago, junior Kyle Warkoczewski of Muskego, senior Andrew Knoll of New Berlin West, senior Austin Elsner of New London, senior Kaylor Steger of Oak Creek, junior Bennet Hutson of Onalaska, junior Carson Torhorst of Oregon, senior Logan Handy of Oshkosh West, senior Garrett Loomis of River Falls, junior Braden Mueller of Shawano, senior Trey Hewuse of Tomah, senior Eric Jahnke of Watertown, freshman Matt Tuman of Wausau East, sophomore Patrick Sicula of Whitefish Bay and senior Joe Benbow of Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

DIVISION 2 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS:  Senior Graham Westly of River Valley is the top returning player  from last year’s championships. He was runner-up, five strokes behind the victor with a score of 150. The individual qualifiers in Division 2 are senior Gabby Curtis of Altoona, sophomore Sam Marks of Berlin, freshman Alex Brandt of Chilton, junior Chapin Orr of Dodgeville, senior Justin Fleury of East Troy, senior Drew Pipik of Edgerton, senior Jordan Duffy and sophomore Michael McDonald of Hayward, junior Jackson Eversoll of McFarland, senior Josh Smies of Oostburg, sophomore Chris Golla of Winnebago Lutheran and senior Craig Block of Wrightstown.

DIVISION 3 INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: Senior Joe Markgren of Osseo-Fairchild is the top returning finisher from last year’s meet. He placed in a tie for second by shooting a 147, one stroke behind the winner. The Division 3 individual qualifiers are senior Hunter Rudnick of Cadott, junior Jeff Stemper of Catholic Central, junior Drew Zimmerman of Cuba City, junior Jake Hierlmeier of Glenwood City, sophomore Jordan Knutson of Grantsburg, senior Nolan Wolberg of  Iola-Scandinavia, junior Taylor Ryman of Mineral Point and senior Austin Buss of Randolph, sophomores Brady Sarauer and Patrick Treichel of St. Mary’s Springs and sophomore Alex Hulbert and senior David Niemuth of Weyauwega-Fremont.

NEED THE QUALIFIERS/TEE TIMES?: All rosters, qualifiers and tee times are available on the boys golf page on the WIAA website at:

NEED RESULTS?: The quickest way to get the boys golf results of the regional, sectional and State Tournament  would be to access the boys golf results page on the WIAA website at:

FOLLOW THE TOURNEY ON TWITTER: Receive the updates of the Boys State Tournament on the WIAA State Tournament Twitter account @wiaawistate with the hashtag #wiaagolf.

#  WIAA  #

Prepared by WIAA Communications


Please login or register to post comments.