Gymnastics - History

Gymnastics History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament in girls gymnastics in 1971. Green Bay Preble won the first championship with Green Bay East finishing runner-up.
Eau Claire Memorial hosted the first two State Meets. The meet moved to Green Bay for one year after which Waukesha South was the site until it was moved to Wisconsin Rapids in 1982.
There was only one class of competition from 1971 to 1977, but the program was divided into A and B divisions in 1978 and remains that way at this time, although classes were renamed divisions effective in 1991.

Whitefish Bay has won the most team titles with eight, and it should also be noted that Whitefish Bay has an additional two titles that came with a cooperative arrangement with Shorewood. Waukesha West/North/South has won the second-most team titles with seven. Franklin/Muskego/Oak Creek/Whitnall and River Falls are next on the list with six. Four of Franklin/Muskego/Oak Creek/Whitnall titles (2011-14) were consecutive. Brookfield Central, De Pere and Mount Horeb have won five State championships. De Pere's five titles came consecutively (1986-90), Nicolet and Southwestern/Cuba City have won four State titles.  Besides De Pere and Franklin/Muskego/Oak Creek/Whitnall, the only teams to win three consecutive championships are Nicolet (1980-82), Waukesha West/North/South (1999-2001 & 2006-08) and River Falls (2002-04).
Individually, Beth Weber of Whitefish Bay/Shorewood has won the most titles with 10, and Gina Piazza of Fall River is next in line with eight. Jenny Donar of Southwestern/Cuba City has won seven titles, and Molly Benavides of Burlington/Badger/Catholic Central/Wilmot, Bailey Fitzpatrick also of Burlington/Badger/Catholic Central/Wilmot, Julie Stefan of Franklin/Muskego/Whitnall, Kelly Dahlstrom of Onalaska, Barb Zakowski of Green Bay Southwest, Gabrielle Mahairas of La Crosse Central and Sami Todd of Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Cochrane-Fountain City/Melrose-Mindoro each won six events during their careers.
Donar is the only gymnast to win an event four times, winning the uneven parallel bars crown from 2003-06. Weber, Shanna Popp of Burlington/Badger/Catholic Central/Wilmot and Jessie Laho of Westosha Central won the uneven parallel bars three times. Weber and Danielle Longway of Onalaska have each won the state vault competition three times during their careers, and Tricia Adkins of Sun Prairie, Amber Rohde of Southwestern/Cuba City and Piazza are the only three gymnasts that are three-time champions in the floor exercise. No gymnast has won three beam titles.
Weber and Mahairas are the only two gymnasts to win the all-around title three times. Weber recorded her string from 1995-97, and Mahairas won the title from 1985-87.

The program that has won the most number of individual events is Waterford with 15. Whitefish Bay as a stand-alone program has claimed 13 individual titles. River Falls is next on the list with 12 titles. The Burlington/Badger/Catholic Central/Wilmot co-op and Mount Horeb are next in line with 11 event champions. Elkhorn and Racine Horlick/Case/Park have 10 event winners. Brookfield Central–before becoming a co-op–had nine champions. Programs with eight individual titles include Arrowhead, La Crosse Central, Lake Mills, Onalaska and Southwestern/Cuba City.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM