Girls Swimming & Diving - History

Girls Swimming & Diving History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament program in girls swimming in 1970. Madison Memorial won the first team championship with Menomonee Falls North finishing runner-up.

The first two State Meets were held at Beloit before it moved to Whitefish Bay from 1972-1975. It was held in Madison in 1976 and Whitewater in 1977. Since 1978, the meet has been held at the University of Wisconsin Natatorium in Madison.

Girls swimming and diving was conducted in a single division until 1992 when a two-division format was adopted.

Germantown won the first Division 2 team championship held at the UW Natatorium with Rhinelander placing runner-up, while Madison West won the Division 1 title in the first year of the two division format.

Either Madison Memorial or Madison West won all the championships through 1983. West has won the most State titles with 15, and Madison Memorial is right behind with 14. Next in line is Arrowhead with 11 and then Shorewood with seven.

Arrowhead won five consecutive team championships from 2002-2006. Other schools that have won four consecutive championships include Madison West, which accomplished the feat three times (1980-83, 1989-92 and 1995-98); Shorewood, which won four consecutive Division 2 championships from 1994-97; and Edgewood, which won Division 2 titles from 2015-18,

Sixteen individuals have won four State championships in the same individual event during their careers. They are Kathy Treible of Brookfield Central in the 200-yard individual medley (1976-79), Connie Wright of Waukesha North in the 100 butterfly and the 100 backstroke (1978-81), Gina Ketelhohn of Brown Deer in diving (1992-95), Terri Jashinsky of Menomonee Falls/Hamilton in the 100 butterfly (1992-95), Cortnee Adams of Appleton North in the 50 freestyle (1995-98), Sarah Wanezak of Brookfield East in the 100 backstroke (1997-00), Jane Evans of Madison Memorial in the 200 I.M. (1998-01), Andrea Boritzke of Arrowhead in the 200 I.M. (2002-05), Jenna Lennertz of Greendale in the 100 butterfly (2004-07), Kelly Winckler of DeForest in the 200 freestyle (2004-07), Kylie Rosenstock of Madison West in diving (2006-09), Aja Van Hout of Madison East in the 200 I.M. (2007-10), Beata Nelson of Verona/Mount Horeb in the 100 backstroke (2012-15), Ginger Lingard of Edgewood in diving (2013-16) and Autumn Haebig of Grafton in the 500 freestyle (2013-16).

Bortizke has won the most titles by an individual with 16. Autumn Haebig of Grafton, Maggie Zblewski of Arrowhead and Michelle Jesperson of Madison West are next with 14. Aja Van Hout of Madison East swam to 13 titles. Jamie Belfor of Shorewood, Jane Evans of Madison Memorial, Kylsie Grimes of Arrowhead and Nelson each won 12 titles during their careers. Autumn Haebig of Grafton has compiled 11 titles, and Wright, Lauren Breunig of Sauk Prairie, Kelly Winckler of DeForest and Bridgette Alexander of Milton completed their careers with 10 championship titles.

Madison West has won the most event championships with 83, and Madison Memorial is next with 81. Arrowhead is third with 80 events won; Shorewood is fourth with 43; and Edgewood is fifth with 37.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM