Girls Cross Country - History

Girls Cross Country History

The WIAA began sponsoring a girls cross country tournament program in 1975. Prairie du Chien won the first championship with Waukesha South finishing runner-up.

The State meet has always been held in conjunction with the boys State meet. (See Boys Cross Country for history of sites of State meet). There was only one class of competition for the first three years (1975-77). It became two classes in 1978 and three classes in 1980. Terminology was changed from Classes A-B-C to Divisions 1-2-3 in 1990. The girls ran a 3,200-meter until 1993 and then a 4,000-meter race up until 2014, when the distances were extended to five kilometers.

Waukesha West leads the way in number of State Championships with seven. Dodgeville/Mineral Point, Lourdes Academy, Luxemburg-Casco and Pewaukee have all won the second-most titles with five. Albany, Arrowhead, Edgar, Fennimore, La Crosse Central, Middleton, Mount Horeb (not including a title as a co-op program with Barneveld) and Tomahawk are tied for third with four each; followed by Boscobel, Brookwood, Cochrane-Fountain City, Neenah, Prentice, Stevens Point and Verona with three each. 

Only Waukesha West (1998-2001) has won four consecutive championships. Three consecutive titles have been won by Albany (1989-91), Arrowhead (2011-13), Dodgeville/Mineral Point (2010-12), Fennimore (1980-82), La Crosse Central (1988-90), Lourdes Academy (2013-15), Middleton (1995-97), Neenah (1981-83), Pewaukee (2001-03) and Prentice (1985-87). 

Molly Seidel of University Lake School (2008-11) and Suzy Favor of Stevens Point (1982-85) are the only Wisconsin girls cross country runners to win four State titles.

Cathy Branta of Slinger (1978-80) and Ashley Beutler of New Glarus/Monticello (2004, 2006-07) are the only other runners to have won three titles. Suzie Houston of Tomahawk (1975-76), Maryann Brunner of Waukesha North (1978-79), Jackie Anderson of Mount Horeb (1981-84), Clare Eichner of Wauwatosa East (1986-87), Amy Wickus of Baraboo (1988-89), Avrie Walters of La Crosse Logan (1991-92), Sue Daggett of Random Lake (1991-92), Kristina Betzhold of Eau Claire North (1993-94), Rachel Earney of Cochrane-Fountain City (1995-96), Liz Reusser of Middleton (1997-98), Kelly Bogard of Kimberly (2005, 2007), Gabby Levac of Arrowhead (2008-09), Alexandra Fons of Franklin (2010-11), Dana Feyen of Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau (2016-17) and Marissa Ellenbecker of Edgar (2017-18) have two titles.

Dodgeville/Mineral Point, Mount Horeb, Slinger, Stevens Point and University Lake School have produced the most individual champions with four. Baraboo, Cochrane-Fountain City, Edgar, Pardeeville, Random Lake and Shorewood have produced three individual champions. Individual titles have been won by runners from 78 different schools.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM