Boys Soccer History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament program in boys soccer in 1982. Whitefish Bay won the first team championship by blanking Brookfield East 2-0 in the title game.

The first State Tournament was held at Menomonee Falls. It moved to Neenah in 1983 and was held in Madison from 1988-2002. In 2003, the State Tournament was moved to its current location at Uihlein Soccer Park in Milwaukee.

In 1992, a two-division format was instituted for the first time, with eight schools in the Division 1 State tournament and four schools in Division 2. The three-division format was introduced in 2002. Eight schools qualified in Division 1 and four qualified in Divisions 2 and 3. In 2013, the four-division format was introduced with four teams qualifying in each of the divisions.

Marquette has won 14 championships to lead all schools. Whitefish Bay is next on the list with seven titles, and The Prairie School has won six. Xavier has won four titles with Brookfield East, Cedarburg, Delavan-Darien, Madison West, Mount Horeb, Neenah, Notre Dame and Oregon all having won three. Homestead, Muskego, Racine St. Catherine's, Sheboygan Christian, University School of Milwaukee and Wauwatosa East have each won two.

Marquette has appeared in the most State Tournaments with 18. Brookfield East is next on the list of appearances with 17, and Neenah follows with 16. Madison West has qualified for State 15 times, and then Whitefish Bay with 14. Middleton has appeared in 13 State Tournaments, Racine Horlick 12, Cedarburg 11, and Green Bay Preble 10.

Marquette is the only school to win five consecutive titles (2014-18), and the Hilltoppers are also the only program to win four straight titles (2000-03) in addition to their five straight titles. Furthermore, Marquette (2010-12) and Whitefish Bay (2015-17) are the only programs to win three in a row. Whitefish Bay has also won an additional two straight championships (1982-83). Other programs to have won back-to-back titles are Madison West (1987-88), Neenah (1985-86), Notre Dame (2007-08), Sheboygan Christian (2002-03), The Prairie School (2010-11) and Xavier (2003-04) have won two straight championships.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM