Boys Golf - History

Boys Golf History

The WIAA goes back to 1923 to determine the beginning of its boys spring golf tournament program.

There were 11 schools that participated the first year of the Boys State Golf Tournament. It was held in Racine. Racine (a one high school district at that time) won the championship with Hartland (now Arrowhead) second and South Milwaukee third.
Racine held the tournament the next three years, too, then it moved around among many communities. Lawsonia, near Green Lake, has hosted the State Tournament on two separate occasions (1955-62 and 1976-80). But usually, the sites changed after two or three years. Lake Arrowhead in Adams County held it from 1986 to 1989.

Because golf became a two-class tournament program in 1989, the B-C portion that year went to Mishicot (Fox Hills) where the entire program - meaning three classes for the first time - was held in 1990. Terminology was changed in 1991 from Classes to Divisions (1-2-3). Beginning in 1994, the tournament moved to the University Ridge Course in Madison where it remains today.

Madison West holds the greatest number of team titles with 15. Osseo-Fairchild is next with nine, then Arrowhead with eight and Racine Park with seven.

Arrowhead (2007-10) and St. Mary's Springs (2015-18) are the only programs to have won four straight championships. Racine (1923-25), Madison West (1934-36 and 1960-62), Middleton (1997-99) and Osseo-Fairchild (1994-96) have won three consecutive titles.

Bill Heim of Green Bay Preble and Jeremy Lyons of Glenwood City are the only individuals to win medalist honors three times. Heim won from 1986-88 and Lyons from 1997-99.

There have been 15 other individuals that have been medalists twice. Edward Lock of Lake Geneva (now Badger) was the first in 1927-28. Steve Bull of Racine Horlick did it in 1950 and 1952. Rick Radder of Madison West won in both 1961 and 1962; Andy North of Monona Grove won in 1966 and 1967; Mark Voeller of Whitewater in 1988 and 1989; Kent Higley of Eleva-Strum in 1989 and 1990; Scott Cole of New Richmond in 1993 and 1995; Chad Kovaleski of New Richmond in 1999 and 2000; Matt Bark of Washburn in 2000 and 2001; Tyler Obermueller of River Falls in 2002 and 2004; Cody Strang of Edgewood and Jake Nelson of Ladysmith in 2008 and 2009; Charlie Danielson of Osceola in 2010 and 2012; Tyler Leach of Spring Valley in 2016 and 2018; and Piercen Hunt of Arrowhead in 2017 and 2018.

Madison West has produced the individual medalist nine times, the most of any member institution. Four champions have been crowned from Badger, Eleva-Strum, Green Bay Preble, New Richmond, Osseo-Fairchild and Racine Horlick.

Since moving to University Ridge in 1994, Andy Hansen and Jordan Niebrugge of Homestead have shot the best 36-hole score in the State Tournament with a 136 in 2006 and 2012, respectively. The only other golfers to hit below 140 was a 138 by Emmet Herb of Middleton in 2016 and a 139 shot by Anthony Aicher of Wausau East in 2009.

Boys Fall Golf

The WIAA sponsored golf as a fall sport for boys from 1974 to 1985 after which it was dropped because of the low number of participating schools. Appleton West won three championships while Greendale, Neenah and Racine Case each won two titles. Jeff Thomas of Racine Case (1974 and 1975) and Robert Schuhart of Oshkosh West (1980 and 1981) won medalist honors in two different years.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM