Summer Baseball - History

Summer Baseball History

The WIAA began offering a summer baseball tournament program in 1965. The program was discontinued following the 2018 season. 

The first State tournament was held in West Bend, which was the location for the first 24 State Summer Baseball Tournaments. The tournament was moved to Bukolt Park in Stevens Point in 1989 where it was held for the next 22 years. In 2012, the tournament was moved to Kapco Field on the campus of Concordia University in Mequon until the final tournament in 2018.

The tournament featured eight teams participating in the State quarterfinals, semifinals and final up until 2011. In 2012, the field was reduced to four teams consisting of the semifinals and the championship game.
Brookfield Central, Oak Creek and West Bend West won the most State title in the summer baseball season with four. Brown Deer, Greendale, Homestead and West Bend East are next on the list of State championships with three. Arrowhead, Franklin, Marquette, Menomonee Falls and Nicolet won twice.
New Holstein appeared in the most State Tournaments with 19. West Bend West was second on the list of appearances with 14, and Ashland and Plymouth ranked third with 13. Platteville played in 12 State tournaments, and Franklin and Marquette made 11 appearances. Arcadia, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau and West Bend East qualified 10 times. Homestead, New Richmond, Nicolet and Whitehall made nine appearances. The State championship was won by 31 different schools. One of them, Auburndale (1970), was the only school which had also won the State spring title (1960) at the time the summer season was discontinued.
In 2004, Oak Creek became the first school in the history of the summer baseball program to win back-to-back titles. In 2005, the Knights extended their record number of consecutive titles with their third straight championship. Franklin captured consecutive championships in 2010 and 2011, and Menomonee Falls won two straight titles in 2015 and 2016.
Marquette played in back-to-back title games (2008-09), but finished runner-up in 2009 after winning the title the previous year.  Several schools have played in the title game in consecutive seasons only to finish runner-up on both occasions, including West Bend (1966-67), Hamilton (1970-71), Ashland (1994-95), Cedarburg (1997-98), West Bend West (2010-11) and Marquette (2016-17).

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM