Spring Baseball - History

Baseball History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament program in spring baseball in 1948.

The first State Tournament was held in Milwaukee, and a Milwaukee school (then called Boys Tech) was the winner, defeating Madison East, 10-2, in the finals.

Milwaukee was the site of the State Tournament again in 1949, but it was moved in 1950 to Menasha where it was held eight straight years through 1957. Eau Claire became the new home of the State Tournament in1958 and for the next four years as well, then it moved to Oshkosh for 1963 and 1964 and to Wisconsin Rapids in 1965 before returning to Eau Claire for five straight years. Marion held the 1971 and 1972 tournaments, then it moved to Wausau (1973) where it was held through 1997. The tournament moved to its current location at Neuroscience Group Field at Fox Cities Stadium in Grand Chute in 1998.

Beginning in 1978, competition took place in three Classes (A-B-C). Terminology was changed in 1991 from Classes to Divisions (1-2-3). In 2006, the Tournament Series expanded to four divisions.

Sun Prairie leads all member schools in State championships with eight. Appleton West is next on the list with seven titles. Catholic Central and Nekoosa have five titles, while Eau Claire and Janesville Craig has four State titles. Athens, Eau Claire Memorial, Greenwood, Hortonville, Kenosha St. Joseph, Kimberly, Marathon, Oconomowoc, Milwaukee Lutheran, Ripon and Stevens Point each have three titles each.

La Crosse Central leads in tournament appearances with 18. Milwaukee Bradley Tech and Stevens Point have been to the State Tournament 15 times; Appleton West, Janesville Craig, Oconomowoc and Sun Prairie have appeared 14 times; Eau Claire North and Middleton 13 times; Bay Port, Eau Claire Memorial, Fond du Lac and Kimberly 12 times. Waunakee has 10 State appearances, and Neenah, Nekoosa and Watertown have made nine. De Soto, Madison Memorial, Hortonville, Superior, Waupun, Wausau West and Wilmot are next on the list with eight appearances.

Only Nekoosa and Sun Prairie have won three consecutive championships. Nekoosa won the Class B titles from 1980-82, and Sun Prairie won Division 1 titles from 2012-14. Back-to-back championships have been accomplished 16 times, including Nekoosa's and Sun Prairie's consecutive titles. Nekoosa also won two straight Class B championships in 1984-85, and Sun Prairie captured two straight crowns in Division 1 in 2005-06. Eau Claire also won two straight titles twice (1957-58 and 1961-62) before the class system was implemented. Janesville Craig (1983-84) and Oconomowoc (1980-81) each won back-to-back Class A championships, Appleton West also won a pair of consecutive championships (1975-76), and Bay Port matched that accomplishment in 2009-10. 

De Soto won two straight Division 3 titles in 2000-01, as did Catholic Central in 2004-05 and 2010-11. Hortonville won two consecutive Division 2 championships in 1997-98, Milwaukee Lutheran accomplished the feat in 2002-03, and St. Joseph's titles were won in two different divisions, winning the Division 2 title in 2005 and the Division 3 title in 2006. Lake Country Lutheran also won back-to-back championships in different divisions, winning the Division 4 title in the 2014 and the Division 3 title in 2015. Athens won back-to-back Division 4 championships in 2017-18.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM