WISCONSIN INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION



5516 Vern Holmes Drive • Stevens Point, WI • 54482-8833 Phone 715-344-8580 • FAX 715-344-4241 • email info@wiaawi.org • Web site www.wiaawi.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 20, 2010

WIAA ANNOUNCES 2010 SCHOLAR ATHLETE AWARD WINNERS

Stevens Point, Wis. —Thirty-two senior students attending Wisconsin public and nonpublic high schools have been named winners of the 2010 WIAA Scholar Athlete Award, presented by the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association.

This year's 16 boys and 16 girls will be recognized at an award ceremony Sunday, May 2 at the Westwood Conference Center in Wausau. For the first time, the WIAA Scholar Athlete Award program will be underwritten by Marshfield Clinic.

The featured speaker will be Larry Hisle, retired centerfielder for the Milwaukee Brewers. A former two-time MLB All-Star, Hisle is currently employed with the Brewers as the Manager of Youth Outreach and is president of Major League Mentoring, a youth mentoring program in Milwaukee.

Every year, each of the WIAA-member high schools is invited to nominate one boy and one girl for Scholar Athlete honors. There were 726 nominations---361 boys and 365 girls---for the 2010 statewide award from 386 schools. To qualify for the WIAA Scholar Athlete Award, a nominee much have earned at least four varsity letters through the first half of his/her senior year and must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

This year's nominees in four WIAA categories includes 184 from 96 schools in Division 1; 195 from 101 schools in Division 2; 193 from 103 schools in Division 3; and 154 from 86 schools in Division 4. The divisions are the same as those used by the WIAA in basketball and volleyball tournament participation.

There have been 796 young men and women honored since the program was launched in 1984 to honor scholastic and athletic excellence.

At the awards ceremony, at which the winners' parents and coaches or teachers will also be guests, each 2010 WIAA Scholar Athlete will receive a medallion and certificate, and will take with them a special plaque for display in their school's trophy case.

The following is a list of 2010 winners, the communities in which they live and the high schools they attend.

DIVISION 1 – BOYS

Ross J. Brown, Chippewa Falls—Chippewa Falls High School Logan Hietpas, Appleton—Kimberly High School Michael Owen, Middleton—Middleton High School Max Poeske, Menomonee Falls—Menomonee Falls High School

DIVISION 1 – GIRLS

Hannah Jasurda, Weston—D.C. Everest High School Erienne Lauersdorf, Watertown—Watertown High School Courtney Mrotek, Manitowoc—Manitowoc Lincoln High School Andie Varsho, Chili—Marshfield High School

- MORE -

2010 Scholar Athletes Continued...

DIVISION 2 – BOYS

Sam Arnott, Tomahawk—Tomahawk High School Nathan Brown, Sheboygan Falls—Sheboygan Falls High School Connor Hanson, Pickett—Ripon High School* Donnie Hissa, Iron River—Northwestern High School

DIVISION 2 – GIRLS

Jamie Armstrong, Monroe—Monroe High School Alaina Murphy, Seymour—Seymour High School Megan Palmer, Whitefish Bay—Whitefish Bay High School Katie Raymond, Montello—Westfield Area High School

DIVISION 3 – BOYS

Garrick Day, Elk Mound—Elk Mound High School Ryan McGuire, Mineral Point—Mineral Point High School* Justin Sinz, Edgar—Edgar High School Indy Spindler, Stratford—Stratford High School

DIVISION 3 – GIRLS

Katie Langmeier, Cuba City—Cuba City High School Rachel Melum, Iola—Iola-Scandinavia High School Jenna Pitt, Amherst—Amherst High School Julie Raeder, Sheboygan Falls—Oostburg High School

DIVISION 4 – BOYS

Michael J. Droessler, Benton—Benton High School
Josh Eastlick, Belmont—Belmont High School
Carson Giller, Luck—Luck High School*
Kevin Weis, Cochrane—Cochrane-Fountain City High School

DIVISION 4 – GIRLS

Rae Ellen Brandes, Twin Lakes—Faith Christian-Williams Bay High School Sarah Howe, Siren—Siren High School*
Katie Place, South Wayne—Black Hawk High School
Stephanie Walek, Independence—Independence High School

For more information, contact Kirk Howard of the Kinziegreen Marketing Group at (715) 845-4251 or email kirk@kinziegreen.com, or by contacting Tom Shafranski at the WIAA at (715) 344-8580 or email at tshafranski@wiaawi.org.

^{*} indicates that the student is that school's first statewide winner.