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Q:	
  	
  A	
  pitcher	
  throws	
  78	
  pitches	
  and	
  goes	
  to	
  a	
  different	
  position,	
  is	
  he	
  allowed	
  to	
  pitch	
  
again	
  later	
  in	
  the	
  game?	
  
A:	
  	
  Yes.	
  	
  The	
  count	
  is	
  a	
  daily	
  total.	
  	
  In	
  fact,	
  he	
  could	
  pitch	
  in	
  the	
  second	
  game	
  of	
  a	
  double	
  
header.	
  	
  But	
  he	
  is	
  limited	
  to	
  the	
  max	
  of	
  100	
  in	
  a	
  day	
  and	
  must	
  end	
  on	
  that	
  batter.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  How	
  do	
  you	
  count	
  an	
  ambidextrous	
  pitcher?	
  
A:	
  	
  If	
  the	
  pitcher	
  is	
  ambidextrous,	
  the	
  pitch	
  count	
  guidelines	
  apply	
  to	
  the	
  individual	
  
pitcher,	
  not	
  to	
  the	
  individual	
  arm	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  Are	
  intentional	
  walks	
  counted	
  as	
  pitching?	
  
A:	
  	
  Only	
  if	
  the	
  pitch	
  is	
  thrown	
  from	
  the	
  pitcher	
  to	
  the	
  catcher.	
  	
  In	
  high	
  school	
  baseball,	
  
the	
  defense	
  can	
  tell	
  the	
  umpire	
  to	
  walk	
  the	
  batter	
  without	
  pitching.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  When	
  competing	
  in	
  another	
  state,	
  which	
  pitch	
  count	
  should	
  we	
  use?	
  
A:	
  	
  For	
  WIAA	
  members,	
  the	
  WIAA	
  rules	
  apply	
  and	
  should	
  be	
  used.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  If	
  a	
  pitcher	
  is	
  effectively	
  wild,	
  but	
  unhittable	
  (think	
  Nolan	
  Ryan)	
  –	
  let’s	
  say	
  he	
  
averages	
  5	
  to	
  6	
  pitches	
  per	
  batter,	
  striking	
  out	
  most	
  of	
  them	
  –	
  he	
  could	
  conceivably	
  
reach	
  the	
  sixth	
  or	
  seventh	
  inning	
  of	
  a	
  PERFECT	
  GAME	
  and	
  have	
  hit	
  the	
  100	
  pitch	
  limit	
  
and	
  would	
  therefore	
  have	
  to	
  leave	
  the	
  PERFECT	
  GAME	
  without	
  finishing	
  it	
  –	
  
correct?	
  	
  (Sub-­‐question:	
  	
  Does	
  the	
  rule	
  actually	
  penalize	
  strike	
  out	
  pitchers	
  compared	
  
to	
  pitchers	
  who	
  pitch	
  to	
  contact,	
  since	
  strikeout	
  pitchers,	
  by	
  nature,	
  throw	
  more	
  
pitches?	
  	
  If	
  so,	
  do	
  we	
  really	
  want	
  this?)	
  
A:	
  	
  Yes,	
  he	
  has	
  to	
  leave	
  once	
  the	
  100-­‐pitch	
  count	
  is	
  reached	
  no	
  matter	
  the	
  game	
  
situation.	
  	
  	
  In	
  fact,	
  last	
  year	
  in	
  the	
  Major	
  Leagues	
  a	
  rookie	
  pitcher	
  was	
  pulled	
  after	
  
reaching	
  100	
  pitches.	
  	
  Dodger’s	
  manager	
  Dave	
  Roberts	
  pulled	
  Ross	
  Stripling	
  after	
  7	
  1/3	
  
innings	
  on	
  April	
  8,	
  2016,	
  despite	
  the	
  fact	
  that	
  the	
  rookie	
  was	
  throwing	
  a	
  no-­‐hitter	
  in	
  his	
  
Major	
  League	
  debut.	
  On	
  April	
  28,	
  2016,	
  Don	
  Mattingly	
  decided	
  to	
  pull	
  pitcher	
  Adam	
  
Conley	
  after	
  throwing	
  116	
  pitches	
  despite	
  not	
  allowing	
  a	
  hit	
  for	
  7	
  2/3	
  innings.	
  	
  
	
  
In	
  an	
  article,	
  David	
  Lennon	
  stated:	
  	
  “Back	
  in	
  2012,	
  Terry	
  Collins	
  was	
  in	
  tears	
  after	
  letting	
  
Johan	
  Santana	
  throw	
  the	
  first	
  no-­‐hitter	
  in	
  Mets	
  history,	
  perhaps	
  knowing	
  what	
  those	
  
134	
  pitches	
  eventually	
  might	
  cost	
  his	
  ace.”	
  And	
  “And	
  Santana?	
  After	
  the	
  134-­‐pitch	
  no-­‐
hitter,	
  he	
  went	
  3-­‐7	
  with	
  an	
  8.27	
  ERA	
  the	
  rest	
  of	
  2012.	
  And	
  after	
  that	
  season,	
  he	
  never	
  
threw	
  another	
  major-­‐league	
  pitch.”	
  	
  
http://www.newsday.com/sports/columnists/david-­‐lennon/pulling-­‐a-­‐pitcher-­‐from-­‐



possible-­‐no-­‐hitter-­‐no-­‐longer-­‐a-­‐no-­‐no-­‐1.11748057	
  	
  	
  
	
  
On	
  September	
  9,	
  2016,	
  “The	
  Dodgers’	
  Rich	
  Hill	
  was	
  six	
  outs	
  away	
  from	
  throwing	
  a	
  
perfect	
  game	
  against	
  the	
  Marlins	
  on	
  Saturday,	
  but	
  manager	
  Dave	
  Roberts	
  made	
  the	
  
difficult	
  decision	
  to	
  pull	
  him	
  after	
  only	
  89	
  pitches	
  due	
  to	
  a	
  blister.	
  “	
  	
  
http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/2016/09/dave-­‐roberts-­‐on-­‐rich-­‐hills-­‐near-­‐perfect-­‐
game.html	
  	
  	
  
	
  
The	
  pitch	
  count	
  is	
  a	
  risk	
  minimization	
  rule	
  addressing	
  the	
  health	
  of	
  the	
  pitcher.	
  	
  It	
  is	
  not	
  
a	
  penalty.	
  	
  A	
  study	
  published	
  in	
  the	
  American	
  Journal	
  of	
  Sports	
  Medicine	
  found	
  that	
  58.9	
  
percent	
  of	
  Tommy	
  John	
  surgeries	
  were	
  in	
  athletes	
  aged	
  15	
  to	
  19.	
  	
  Fleisig	
  (American	
  
Sports	
  Medicine	
  Institute)	
  found	
  that	
  a	
  pitcher	
  is	
  more	
  likely	
  to	
  suffer	
  an	
  injury	
  if:	
  	
  1)	
  he	
  
throws	
  more	
  than	
  80	
  pitches	
  in	
  a	
  game	
  (four	
  times	
  more	
  likely);	
  2)	
  he	
  throws	
  more	
  than	
  
eight	
  months	
  a	
  year	
  (five	
  times	
  more	
  likely);	
  and	
  3)	
  he	
  throws	
  when	
  fatigued	
  in	
  a	
  game	
  
(36	
  times	
  more	
  likely).	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  At	
  the	
  previous	
  5	
  State	
  Final	
  tournaments,	
  approximately	
  half	
  of	
  the	
  State	
  
championship	
  games	
  have	
  had	
  pitchers	
  come	
  in	
  the	
  game	
  in	
  relief	
  that	
  had	
  pitched	
  
previously	
  in	
  the	
  Semi-­‐Final	
  or	
  Quarter-­‐Final.	
  	
  Almost	
  all	
  of	
  these	
  pitchers	
  would	
  now	
  
be	
  unavailable	
  in	
  the	
  State	
  championship	
  game	
  because	
  of	
  the	
  new	
  rule.	
  	
  Correct?	
  
A:	
  	
  Pitchers	
  have	
  required	
  days	
  of	
  rest	
  according	
  to	
  the	
  number	
  of	
  pitches	
  in	
  a	
  day.	
  	
  If	
  
they	
  pitch	
  more	
  than	
  30	
  in	
  a	
  day,	
  a	
  minimum	
  of	
  1	
  day	
  of	
  rest	
  is	
  required.	
  	
  We	
  don’t	
  
know	
  how	
  many	
  would	
  have	
  been	
  ineligible	
  last	
  year.	
  	
  It	
  is	
  our	
  hope	
  that	
  coaches	
  will	
  
adjust	
  their	
  strategies,	
  will	
  develop	
  pitchers,	
  and	
  will	
  create	
  opportunities	
  for	
  other	
  
athletes	
  to	
  pitch.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  When	
  originally	
  proposed	
  to	
  the	
  WBCA	
  at	
  last	
  year’s	
  clinic,	
  the	
  original	
  proposal	
  
stated	
  that	
  when	
  a	
  pitcher	
  hit	
  100	
  pitches,	
  he	
  could	
  finish	
  the	
  inning.	
  	
  The	
  current	
  rule	
  
was	
  changed	
  to	
  finishing	
  the	
  at	
  bat.	
  	
  Why	
  the	
  change?	
  
A:	
  	
  With	
  the	
  proposal	
  to	
  complete	
  the	
  inning,	
  it	
  was	
  determined	
  that	
  the	
  pitcher	
  might	
  
throw	
  too	
  many	
  pitches	
  and	
  the	
  recommendation	
  was	
  to	
  finish	
  the	
  batter.	
  	
  The	
  number	
  
100	
  was	
  used	
  for	
  the	
  last	
  batter	
  to	
  allow	
  the	
  pitcher	
  to	
  complete	
  the	
  batter.	
  	
  Otherwise,	
  
it	
  was	
  a	
  112	
  pitch	
  count	
  and	
  pull	
  the	
  pitcher	
  immediately.	
  	
  So	
  it	
  was	
  a	
  reasonable	
  
compromise.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  My	
  understanding	
  is	
  that	
  the	
  team	
  reps	
  and	
  pitch	
  counter	
  meet	
  at	
  the	
  end	
  of	
  every	
  
complete	
  inning…NOT	
  every	
  half	
  inning.	
  	
  Is	
  that	
  correct?	
  
A:	
  They	
  meet	
  at	
  the	
  end	
  of	
  the	
  complete	
  inning,	
  not	
  half	
  inning.	
  	
  If	
  the	
  coaches	
  mutually	
  
agree,	
  it	
  can	
  be	
  the	
  half	
  inning.	
  
	
  



Q:	
  	
  Can	
  the	
  pitch	
  count	
  log	
  info	
  be	
  shared	
  between	
  opposing	
  coaches	
  as	
  teams	
  arrive	
  
to	
  the	
  field	
  for	
  a	
  game,	
  rather	
  than	
  at	
  the	
  pregame	
  meeting	
  right	
  before	
  first	
  pitch?	
  
A:	
  	
  You	
  may	
  take	
  care	
  of	
  the	
  pitch	
  count	
  log	
  when	
  convenient	
  if	
  the	
  coaches	
  agree.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  #4	
  on	
  the	
  WIAA	
  Game	
  Day	
  Requirements	
  document	
  references	
  a	
  “collection	
  
program.”	
  	
  Is	
  the	
  collection	
  program	
  simply	
  the	
  WIAA	
  Pitch	
  Count	
  Chart	
  or	
  is	
  there	
  
another	
  collection	
  program	
  where	
  coaches	
  are	
  logging	
  this	
  info?	
  
A:	
  	
  Coaches	
  must	
  have	
  the	
  pitch	
  log	
  which	
  can	
  be	
  maintained	
  in	
  the	
  best	
  manner	
  they	
  
choose.	
  	
  It	
  must	
  be	
  available	
  if	
  questions	
  arise.	
  	
  It	
  may	
  be	
  a	
  3	
  ring	
  binder,	
  a	
  spreadsheet,	
  
etc.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  With	
  the	
  new	
  pitching	
  rule,	
  I	
  believe	
  there	
  will	
  be	
  questions	
  coming	
  up	
  about	
  
pitcher	
  usage.	
  I	
  have	
  talked	
  to	
  two	
  coaches	
  recently	
  who	
  didn't	
  understand	
  that	
  a	
  
pitcher	
  can	
  be	
  taken	
  out	
  as	
  a	
  pitcher,	
  put	
  in	
  the	
  position	
  of	
  first	
  base	
  for	
  example,	
  and	
  
then	
  re-­‐enter	
  as	
  a	
  pitcher	
  that	
  inning	
  or	
  later	
  in	
  the	
  game.	
  	
  I	
  was	
  isappointed	
  in	
  the	
  
rules	
  video	
  when	
  non	
  of	
  this	
  was	
  covered.	
  	
  For	
  example,	
  how	
  much	
  switching	
  of	
  
pitchers	
  can	
  be	
  done	
  per	
  inning	
  and	
  per	
  game?	
  	
  Also,	
  how	
  many	
  warm	
  up	
  pitches	
  does	
  
the	
  pitcher	
  receive	
  when	
  he	
  returns	
  back	
  to	
  the	
  mound	
  in	
  the	
  same	
  inning?	
  	
  It	
  is	
  my	
  
understanding	
  that	
  as	
  long	
  as	
  the	
  pitcher	
  stays	
  in	
  the	
  game	
  you	
  can	
  pitch	
  him,	
  take	
  
him	
  out,	
  and	
  then	
  return	
  him	
  once	
  an	
  inning?	
  
	
  
I	
  was	
  hoping	
  to	
  have	
  some	
  clarification	
  on	
  this	
  activity	
  if	
  possible.	
  	
  I	
  have	
  been	
  
coaching	
  for	
  over	
  15	
  years	
  and	
  this	
  is	
  by	
  far	
  the	
  biggest	
  rule	
  change	
  I	
  have	
  
encountered.	
  	
  I	
  feel	
  we	
  have	
  been	
  given	
  a	
  chart	
  of	
  pitches	
  allowed	
  and	
  days	
  of	
  
required	
  rest	
  and	
  that	
  is	
  it.	
  	
  There	
  are	
  many	
  things	
  that	
  will	
  happen	
  now	
  because	
  of	
  
the	
  new	
  pitching	
  rule	
  and	
  I	
  feel	
  non	
  of	
  this	
  has	
  been	
  covered	
  or	
  addressed	
  and	
  there	
  
will	
  be	
  major	
  confusion	
  once	
  the	
  games	
  begin.	
  	
  For	
  example,	
  is	
  a	
  balk	
  a	
  pitch?	
  	
  Let's	
  
say	
  a	
  pitcher	
  doesn't	
  pause	
  and	
  throws	
  a	
  pitch	
  to	
  home	
  plate	
  and	
  during	
  the	
  pitch	
  a	
  
balk	
  is	
  called??	
  	
  	
  	
  	
  
A:	
  	
  Nothing	
  has	
  changed	
  in	
  the	
  rules	
  about	
  position	
  changes	
  and	
  therefore,	
  it	
  wouldn’t	
  
be	
  discussed	
  in	
  the	
  video.	
  	
  For	
  coaches	
  who	
  don’t	
  understand	
  substitutions,	
  I	
  
recommend	
  that	
  they	
  read	
  the	
  substitution	
  Rule	
  3	
  Section	
  1	
  area	
  and	
  the	
  pitching	
  Rule	
  6	
  
area.	
  	
  The	
  corresponding	
  case	
  book	
  sections	
  have	
  clear	
  examples.	
  	
  There	
  is	
  no	
  reason	
  to	
  
discuss	
  anything	
  that	
  hasn’t	
  changed.	
  	
  A	
  balk	
  isn’t	
  a	
  pitch.	
  	
  It	
  isn’t	
  counted.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  How	
  does	
  the	
  pitch	
  count	
  for	
  scrimmages	
  work?	
  
A:	
  	
  Scrimmages	
  are	
  practices.	
  	
  No	
  pitch	
  count.	
  	
  But	
  the	
  coaches	
  should	
  be	
  cautious	
  since	
  
this	
  is	
  the	
  beginning	
  of	
  the	
  season.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  If	
  a	
  pitcher	
  reaches	
  a	
  pitch	
  count	
  (say	
  90)	
  on	
  a	
  Monday,	
  putting	
  him	
  in	
  the	
  category	
  



of	
  3	
  days	
  rest,	
  he	
  can't	
  pitch	
  again	
  until	
  Friday.	
  The	
  3	
  days	
  must	
  occur	
  between	
  the	
  
appearances,	
  and	
  are	
  considered	
  calendar	
  days,	
  right?	
  	
  Also,	
  if	
  the	
  days	
  are	
  considered	
  
24	
  hours	
  segments,	
  if	
  a	
  pitcher	
  were	
  to	
  finish	
  a	
  game	
  by	
  6:00	
  on	
  a	
  Monday,	
  and	
  there	
  
was	
  a	
  6:30	
  game	
  scheduled	
  on	
  a	
  Thursday,	
  would	
  that	
  not	
  meet	
  the	
  3	
  days	
  rest	
  
requirement	
  if	
  days	
  are	
  considered	
  24	
  hour	
  segments?	
  	
  
A:	
  	
  A	
  day	
  is	
  a	
  calendar	
  day.	
  	
  A	
  clock	
  is	
  not	
  used.	
  	
  3	
  days	
  rest	
  =	
  3	
  calendar	
  days	
  between	
  
pitching.	
  	
  Therefore,	
  a	
  pitcher	
  must	
  rest	
  for	
  3	
  calendar	
  days	
  and	
  becomes	
  eligible	
  on	
  the	
  
4th	
  calendar	
  day.	
  	
  If	
  a	
  pitcher	
  throws	
  76+	
  pitches	
  on	
  Monday,	
  he/she	
  becomes	
  eligible	
  on	
  
Friday.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  When	
  a	
  pitcher	
  reaches	
  100	
  pitches	
  and	
  the	
  third	
  out	
  is	
  made	
  to	
  end	
  the	
  inning	
  on	
  
a	
  pickoff	
  at	
  another	
  base	
  does	
  said	
  pitcher	
  have	
  to	
  be	
  removed	
  or	
  is	
  he	
  still	
  allowed	
  to	
  
finish	
  said	
  batter	
  next	
  half	
  inning?	
  
A:	
  	
  When	
  the	
  pitcher	
  gets	
  to	
  100,	
  he's	
  done.	
  	
  	
  He	
  would	
  not	
  enter	
  the	
  next	
  inning	
  since	
  
he	
  would	
  face	
  that	
  batter	
  with	
  100	
  pitches.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  	
  Maximum	
  Number	
  of	
  Pitches/Days	
  of	
  Rest	
  "Thresholds".	
  Are	
  the	
  levels	
  a	
  drop	
  
dead?	
  Example,	
  Pitcher	
  A	
  reaches	
  50	
  pitches	
  in	
  the	
  middle	
  of	
  a	
  batter.	
  He	
  finishes	
  the	
  
batter	
  with	
  55	
  pitches.	
  Is	
  his	
  days	
  of	
  rest	
  2	
  days	
  or	
  1	
  day?	
  
A:	
  	
  The	
  only	
  time	
  a	
  pitcher	
  ends	
  is	
  when	
  they	
  finish	
  a	
  batter	
  with	
  100.	
  	
  In	
  the	
  example,	
  
55	
  is	
  when	
  he	
  is	
  done	
  and	
  that	
  final	
  number	
  determines	
  the	
  days	
  of	
  rest.	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  Where	
  can	
  I	
  find	
  the	
  requirements	
  for	
  who	
  serves	
  as	
  the	
  "pitch	
  recorder?"	
  
Specifically,	
  can	
  it	
  be	
  an	
  assistant	
  coach,	
  a	
  team	
  manager,	
  a	
  player	
  who	
  is	
  not	
  in	
  the	
  
game...	
  and,	
  does	
  the	
  same	
  person	
  have	
  to	
  do	
  the	
  entire	
  game?	
  
A:	
  	
  There	
  is	
  no	
  specific	
  requirement.	
  	
  Schools	
  designate	
  a	
  person	
  to	
  count	
  pitches.	
  	
  	
  I	
  
would	
  recommend	
  an	
  adult	
  for	
  varsity.	
  	
  You	
  may	
  only	
  have	
  kids	
  at	
  non	
  varsity	
  games	
  
available.	
  	
  But	
  the	
  third	
  neutral	
  pitch	
  count	
  recorder	
  is	
  not	
  required	
  at	
  this	
  point.	
  	
  	
  
	
  
Q:	
  	
  I	
  told	
  coaches	
  I	
  would	
  get	
  an	
  answer	
  for	
  them	
  from	
  the	
  WIAA.	
  Game	
  suspended	
  
going	
  into	
  9th	
  inning.	
  	
  Game	
  will	
  be	
  finished	
  at	
  a	
  later	
  date.	
  Does	
  pitch	
  count	
  continue	
  
for	
  a	
  pitcher	
  from	
  the	
  8th	
  inning	
  of	
  the	
  suspended	
  game	
  or	
  does	
  the	
  count	
  start	
  over?	
  
A:	
  	
  The	
  game	
  continues	
  with	
  the	
  same	
  line	
  ups	
  in	
  the	
  same	
  positions	
  and	
  batting	
  order	
  
at	
  the	
  time	
  of	
  suspension.	
  	
  The	
  pitch	
  count	
  applies	
  immediately	
  for	
  the	
  days	
  following	
  
the	
  contest.	
  	
  For	
  the	
  make	
  up	
  game,	
  the	
  pitch	
  count	
  is	
  dependent	
  on	
  the	
  days	
  leading	
  
up	
  to	
  the	
  make	
  up	
  date.	
  	
  If	
  the	
  pitcher	
  is	
  not	
  available,	
  then	
  the	
  substitution	
  rule	
  applies.	
  


