Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association

5516 Vern Holmes Drive • PO Box 267 • Stevens Point, WI • 54481-0267 • Phone 715-344-8580 • FAX 715-344-4241 • email info@wiaawi.org



WIAA ANNOUNCES 2008 SCHOLAR ATHLETES

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Thirty-two senior students attending Wisconsin public and nonpublic high schools have been named winners of the 2008 WIAA Scholar Athlete Award, presented by the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA).

That brings to 732 the number of young men and women honored since the program was launched in 1984 to honor scholastic and athletic excellence.

This year's 16 boys and 16 girls were recognized at 25th anniversary award ceremonies on Sunday, May 4th, in Wausau. Featured speaker will be Margaret "Peggy" Mueller, who was a successful coach at Madison West High School for many years. She has been inducted into the Wisconsin High School Track and Field Association and Basketball Coaches Halls of Fame, as well as the Madison Sports Hall of Fame. She is a native of Canada, where she was an Olympic speedskater. She also played basketball and won diving championships while at the University of Saskatchewan. She is a member of the Saskatchewan Athletic Wall of Fame and Sports Hall of Fame.

The WIAA Scholar Athlete Award program has been underwritten since its inception by Wausau Insurance Companies/Liberty Mutual Group, which will host the awards ceremony at the Westwood Conference Center in Wausau.

Every year, each of the WIAA-member high schools in the state is invited to nominate one boy and one girl for Scholar Athlete honors. There were 638 nominations – 308 boys and 330 girls -- for the 2008 statewide award from 355 schools.

Douglas E. Chickering, executive director of the WIAA, said the Scholar Athlete Award program was launched in 1984 to demonstrate the positive impact of interscholastic athletic activities. "Self discipline, time management and teamwork are just a few of the benefits that these young men and women talk about when reflecting upon the impact high school athletics have had on their lives. Many point out that the athletic experience has helped make them more well-rounded individuals."

To qualify for the WIAA Scholar Athlete Award, a nominee must have earned at least four varsity letters through the first half of his/her senior year and must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. This year's nominees in four WIAA categories included 159 from 88 schools in Division 1; 172 from 92 schools in Division 2; 176 from 97 schools in Division 3; and 131 from 78 schools in Division 4. The divisions are those used by the WIAA for basketball and volleyball tournament participation.

At the May 4th awards ceremony, each 2008 WIAA Scholar Athlete received a medallion and certificate, and will take with them a special plaque for display in their school's trophy case.

The 2008 winners, the communities in which they live, and their high schools are listed on the following pages.

DOUG CHICKERING EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR dchickering@wiaawi.org DEBRA HAUSER Associate Director dhauser@wiaawi.org TOM SHAFRANSKI Assistant Director tshafranski@wiaawi.org MARCY THURWACHTER Assistant Director mthurwachter@wiaawi.org TODD CLARK Communications Director tclark@wiaawi.org

DIVISION 1 – BOYS

Alexander Becka, Manitowoc, Manitowoc Lincoln High School Jeffrey Lemmer, Milwaukee, Bradley Technical High School * Joseph Stilin, Milwaukee, Rufus King High School * Mitch Sutton, Plover, Stevens Point High School

DIVISION 1 – GIRLS

Kelly Bogard, Appleton, Kimberly High School Katie Cumming, Hudson, Hudson High School Janelle Gabrielsen, Menomonee Falls, Menomonee Falls High School Carolyn Kishaba, Eau Claire, Eau Claire Memorial High School

DIVISION 2 – BOYS

Bradie Ewing, Richland Center, Richland Center High School Kevin Feick, Plymouth, Plymouth High School Bradley Hallberg, Barron, Barron High School Tyler Muckenhirn, Osceola, Osceola High School

DIVISION 2 – GIRLS

Ellie Arkin, Reedsburg, Reedsburg Area High School Rae Davis, West Salem, West Salem High School Brynn Larsen, Oconto Falls, Oconto Falls High School Traci Wileman, Edgerton, Edgerton High School *

DIVISION 3 – BOYS

Kyle Narveson, Random Lake, Random Lake High School Jordan Rumpel, Arcadia, Arcadia High School Peter Walsh, Danbury, Webster High School Sam Winters, Pittsville, Pittsville High School

DIVISION 3 – GIRLS

Ashley Beutler, New Glarus, New Glarus High School * Briana Kaiser, Cuba City, Cuba City High School Emily Muller, Lancaster, Lancaster High School Alyssa Ryan, Grantsburg, Grantsburg High School

DIVISION 4 – BOYS

Gregory Kopacz, Sheldon, Flambeau High School Scott Popelka, White Lake, White Lake High School * Nicholas Rogness, Strum, Eleva-Strum High School Jon Trzebiatowski, Rosholt, Rosholt High School

DIVISION 4 – GIRLS

Allison Fanta, Hillsboro, Hillsboro High School Kiara Lemminger, Johnson Creek, Johnson Creek High School * Kaitlin Randolph, Drummond, Drummond High School Jocelyn Ver Velde, Oostburg, Sheboygan County Christian High School

* Indicates that the student is that school's first statewide winner.

This year's list of winners turned up these items of interest:

- Of the 355 high schools submitting nominations this year, six had statewide WIAA Scholar Athletes for the first time.
- Sixteen of this year's 32 Scholar Athletes had a grade point average of 4.0.
- Eighteen of the 2008 WIAA Scholar Athletes had earned at least 10 varsity letters in their first 3 ½ years of high school.
- Edgerton High School has its first WIAA Scholar Athlete Traci Wileman.
- Johnson Creek High School produced its first WIAA Scholar Athlete Kiara Lemminger.
- * Milwaukee Bradley Technical High School's first WIAA Scholar Athlete is Jeffrey Lemmer.
- Milwaukee Rufus King High School has its first WIAA Scholar Athlete Joseph Stilin.
- New Glarus High School's first WIAA Scholar Athlete is Ashley Beutler.
- White Lake High School produced its first WIAA Scholar Athlete Scott Popelka.
- Tyler Muckenhirn of Osceola High School is the second member of his family to earn statewide honors. His sister, Ashlea, was a WIAA Scholar Athlete in 2005.
- Kaitlin Randolph of Drummond High School is the second WIAA Scholar Athlete in her family. Her brother, Dylan, earned the honor in 2004.
- Jon Trzebiatowski of Rosholt High School is also a second family winner. His cousin, Julie, was named a WIAA Scholar Athlete in 1994.
- Allison Fanta is Hillsboro High School's fourth WIAA Scholar Athlete. The first was Patrick Tangney in 1989. Tangney is Allison's uncle.