News Releases

Administrators at WIAA member senior high schools are reminded that February 26, 2019 is the deadline to announce their candidacy for positions on the Board of Control and High School Advisory Council.

District administrators, high school principals and assistants at these levels who are interested in becoming candidates in their district (Board of Control) or large/medium/small classification (High School Advisory Council) should state their intention via a letter to Joan Gralla ( at the WIAA office.  Note: Candidates must have (1) Department of Public Instruction licensure allowing placement in the eligible set, (2) must be employed full-time or part-time in a qualifying position and (3) cannot be members of the teachers' bargaining unit.

Primary ballots (if needed) will be mailed March 5 with a return date of March 26.  General election ballots will be mailed March 29 with a return date of April 11.  Results will be announced April 24 at the WIAA Annual Meeting.  Ballots will be mailed to the district administrator.

For complete information regarding powers and duties of the Board of Control and Advisory Council, please refer to Pages 15-23 of the WIAA Senior High Handbook.

All positions are for a 3-year term beginning with the 2019-20 school year. Positions open for which candidates must file by February 26 are as follows:


District 1 (northwest) for position now held by Eric Russell of Baldwin-Woodville (eligible for re-election).

District 6 (south central) for position now held by Bernie Nikolay of Cambridge (eligible for re-election).

District 7 (southeast) for position now held by Steven Knecht of Kenosha Tremper (not eligible for re-election).

Non-Public School At-Large for position now held by Ted Knutson of Aquinas (not eligible for re-election).


Large schools for positions now held by Robert Kobylski of Nicolet (eligible for re-election), and Dan Retzki of Green Bay Preble (eligible for re-election).

Medium schools for positions now held by Jeffrey Sauer of Dodgeland (eligible for re-election) and Michael Endreas of Spencer (eligible for re-election to a small school position.  Spencer will be a small school for the 2019-20 school year).

Small schools for positions now held by Kyle Luedtke of Sevastopol (eligible for re-election) and Paul Manriquez of Pecatonica (eligible for re-election).

Please email letters of interest to Joan Gralla at by February 26, 2019. 

Actions: E-mail | Permalink

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM