News Releases

The 2017 State Boys Team Tennis Tournament concluded Saturday with Marquette and The Prairie School celebrating championships at Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison, Wis.

The Hilltoppers won their third consecutive team title and their 12th overall with a 5-2 victory over Neenah in the championship match. It’s the second straight season the two teams have met in the championship final. Marquette (28-2) won at the #2 and #3 singles positions in the line-up and claimed victory in all three doubles matches to secure the title for the Hilltoppers, who were making their 14th State appearance.

The Rockets (10-2)  finished runner-up for the 11th time in their 16 tournament appearances.

The Prairie School (21-4) claimed the Division 2  championship in its first State Tournament appearance with a 6-1 decision over 2016 champion Edgewood in the championship match. The Hawks won all four singles flights and the #1 and #3 doubles matches to account for the final score. 

The Crusaders (13-6) finished runner-up for the eighth time in their 14 State appearances, which have all come consecutively since 2004.

Actions: E-mail | Permalink

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM