Girls Soccer - History

Girls Soccer History

The WIAA began sponsoring a tournament program in girls soccer in 1983. Whitefish Bay won the first championship, defeating Milwaukee Hamilton, 4-0, in the championship final.
That first State Tournament was held in Menomonee Falls. It moved to Brookfield Central in 1984, then to Hamilton (Sussex) in 1985, and then to Racine in 1986. In 1989, it moved to Madison, where it remained until 2003. The State Championships in Madison were held at two sites. The Division 1 quarterfinals and Division 2 semifinals were held at Mansfield Stadium with the remainder of the tourney played at Breese Stevens Field.
The tournament moved to its current location at Uihlein Soccer Park in Milwaukee in 2004. The State Tournament was a four-team program the first three years, and it has consisted of eight teams in Division 1 beginning with the fourth year. The tournament expanded to two divisions in 1997, to three divisions in 2003 and then to four divisions in 2014 with four teams qualifying from each of the divisions.

Whitefish Bay won the first three of the WIAA's State Championships and has seven overall titles. The Blue Dukes also won three straight Division 2 championships from 1998-2000. Catholic Memorial has also captured the State crown a membership-leading seven times, including two consecutive championships in 2006-07 and three straight titles from 2012-14. The third championship of that run of three titles came in Division 3. 

Madison West has won five titles, including two straight in 1999-2000. Brookfield Central is the only program to have won four straight State Championships (2002-05), which also accounts for its overall total of titles. Ozaukee also claims four championships, including back-to-back titles in 2005-06.

Divine Savior Holy Angels, Homestead, Monona Grove, Wauwatosa East and Xavier have won three titles. Monona Grove's three championships came in succession from 2001-03. Two of Divine Savior Holy Angels', Wauwatosa East's and Xavier's three championships came back-to-back in 1996-97, 2004-05 and 2008-09, respectively.
Arrowhead, Edgewood, Kettle Moraine Lutheran and Madison Memorial have each won two titles. Madison Memorial's titles came back-to-back before the divisional format was established in 1986-87.

Whitefish Bay has made 17 State Tournament appearances; Neenah 15; Brookfield Central and Madison Memorial 12; Madison West and Xavier 11; Catholic Memorial, Grafton, Homestead and Kenosha Tremper 10; Arrowhead, Monona Grove, Racine Horlick and Waukesha West nine; Divine Savior Holy Angels, Eau Claire Memorial, Notre Dame, St. Mary Central and Wauwatosa East eight; and Hudson, Nicolet and Ozaukee six.

Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    RSS

Wisconsin Interscholastic
Athletic Association
5516 Vern Holmes Drive
Stevens Point, WI 54482-8833
Phone (715) 344-8580
Fax (715) 344-4241
Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM